How to Identify Kosher or Halal Vitamins
Learn how to identify which vitamins are kosher/Halal and which aren’t.
If someone is living the kosher or Halal lifestyle, then it is important for them to take a look at their vitamins or supplements. Many vitamins are not kosher/Halal because the Torah, Quran and other Jewish and Islamic teachings say that certain animals are not to be eaten. Vitamins are considered to fall under food laws, so it is essential that people who observe a kosher diet take kosher vitamins.
The biggest problem with many vitamins is that they contain gelatin that may not be made with kosher ingredients. This gelatin may be made of the bones, skins, hooves and connective tissues of many different animals, including pigs.
While kosher vitamins(Halal) often contain gelatin, it is made from allowable sources including deep-sea fish bones, arrowroot, carrageen, carob beans, guar gum, kuzu or xanthan gum. Furthermore, if any animal byproduct is used in kosher vitamins, then that animal must be slaughtered ritualistically following the rules set forth in the Halakha or Shariah.
An easy way to find out if the vitamins that someone is taking are kosher/Halal is to look for a kosher/Halal certification. The largest organization to give this rating is the Orthodox Union and IFANCA for Halal products, but there are other ways to get vitamins certified.
These certification agencies are constantly watching for products claiming to be kosher/Halal. In the United States, if a company is found falsifying kosher certification, all packaging must be promptly destroyed as it is a violation of federal law to claim a product is kosher when it is not.